Professional Class B CDL Training for School Bus
Truck Driving School Training for a Class B CDL
School Bus Driver Training
The School Bus Driver course is offered at the Fresno campus. This is a basic level program and is open to students with no prior knowledge or experience in bus driving.
Students that complete this course will have the basic knowledge and practical skills necessary for employment as an entry-level bus driver with school districts, city motorcoach companies, tour bus companies, casino transportation, farm labor transportation & limousine transportation service.
This course prepares California students to take their written permit exam in order to receive a Class B CDL with school bus certification and Endorsements.
How Long is the Program?
ACI’s Class A CDL training will take 160 hours (8-weeks) to complete. Find the class time that best fits your schedule best.
All locations have the same class times:
Daytime classes: 7:00 AM – 3:30 PM
Evening classes: 4:30 PM – 9:00 PM
What Will I Learn?
Training covers topics in basic operations, safe operating practices, vehicle maintenance, and non-vehicle activities such as passenger loading and unloading, emergency procedures, and special needs passengers. Passenger safety is a core part of the program, this includes passenger loading/unloading, passenger transportation safety, as well as working with special needs passengers.
Which Endorsements Can I Get With My Class B CDL License?
This course prepares students to take their written permit exam in order to receive a Class B CDL with Endorsements, including:
- Air Brakes
In order to obtain a Class B CDL, students must:
- Pass First Aid and Live Scan background certifications
- Pass written exams through the DMV and California Highway Patrol (CHP), as well as behind-the-wheel driving exam through CHP.
Note: You must pass the written CDL Permit exam and the behind-the-wheel driving exam with the DMV in order to pass this course. Students will not be permitted to drive on public roads until a CDL permit has been obtained.
Drug Screen, DOT Physical, and Class A permit with endorsements are non-refundable charges and are included in tuition. All Re-test fees will be the student’s responsibility.
As a nationally accredited institution, we are authorized to offer various financial aid programs to those who qualify, though Financial Aid is not available for all of our programs. Our Financial Aid staff will work with you to determine your eligibility, and complete the application process.
Click here for information on available Financial Assistance programs.
-- Must be at least 18 years of age. (The U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT) requires that all interstate drivers be at least 21 years of age. Applicants less than 21 years of age must provide a letter of intent to hire from a prospective employer.)
-- Must have high school diploma or equivalent.
-- Must provide a driving record free of current serious violations
-- Must be able to pass a Department of Transportation (DOT) physical as required by Federal & State agencies.
-- Must be able to pass a drug screen when administered.
-- No felony convictions in the past five (5) years. All criminal records are subject to review and may be required to provide a letter of intent to hire from a prospective employer.